JD degree

From the Dean

Welcome to Indiana Law

The Law School has a tremendous history. Founded in 1842, we are the ninth-oldest law school in the nation. Our graduates have taken on leadership roles in the country’s most respected law firms, from Wall Street to Main Street. They have built and nurtured successful businesses that drive today’s global economy. And they have chosen careers in public service, on Capitol Hill, and on the front lines of advocacy for people who need it most.

No matter what career they’ve chosen, our alumni make a difference in their community — wherever that may be. Every year, nearly 60 percent of our entering JD class comes from outside Indiana, representing over 100 undergraduate institutions in 25 to 30 states. When they graduate, about 60 percent choose jobs outside Indiana.

Part of our proud legacy is how our graduates have left their mark. They include the first Japanese-American admitted to the bar in the US, the first African American to serve on any state supreme court, the first woman chief justice of Wisconsin, and the first woman chief justice of Indiana. Our alumni include giants like US Supreme Court Justice Sherman Minton, US Representative Lee Hamilton, and US Senator Birch Bayh.

We are also proud to have pathbreaking scholars in a wide range of fields. Our expertise is strongest in research focused on intellectual property, international and comparative law, cybersecurity,environmental, and criminal law, as well as tax, business law, and public interest law.

With each new class, we build on these traditions. We look for remarkable individuals: students who want to be part of a lively community of smart, motivated, supportive classmates who are ready to learn and eager to make a difference outside the classroom.

Thank you for your interest in Indiana Law. I hope to see you on campus next fall.

Austen L. Parrish
Dean and James H. Rudy Professor of Law

About Dean Parrish

Austen Parrish is the Dean and James H. Rudy Professor at the Indiana University Maurer School of Law. He joined the Law School in January 2014 as its 16th dean.

Parrish is active in a variety of national organizations focused on legal education. He is an elected member of the American Law Institute. He serves as a member of the board of directors of AccessLex Institute, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the betterment of legal education with a focus on issues of access and affordability. In 2020 he began serving as a member of the Executive Committee of the Association of American Law Schools and a member of the AALS Deans Steering Committee.

Parrish’s research and teaching interests focus on transnational law, transnational litigation, and the role that national courts and domestic institutions play in solving global challenges. He is the author of numerous scholarly articles that have been published in leading law reviews and is the co-author of two books. Over his career, he has taught a variety of courses, including Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Federal Courts, Transnational Law, International Environmental Law, and Public International Law.

Before joining Indiana University Bloomington, Parrish served as interim dean and CEO, vice dean, and the Irwin R. Buchalter Professor of Law (2007-2008) at Southwestern Law School in Los Angeles. In 2018, he was named the Class of 1942 Wells Scholars Professor for his work with IU's Wells Scholars program.

Prior to entering academia, Dean Parrish was an attorney with O'Melveny and Myers in Los Angeles. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Washington and his law degree from Columbia University, where he was a Harlan Fiske Stone scholar.

Faculty spotlight

Prof. Leandra Lederman is one of the nation's most frequently cited tax scholars.  


Baier Hall
211 South Indiana Avenue
Bloomington, IN 47405
: lawadmis@indiana.edu

Consumer Information (ABA Required Disclosures)