Indiana University Bloomington

Primary Navigation

Opportunities for Students

Sample horizontal photo


Sherman Minton Moot Court

The Sherman Minton Moot Court Competition is a student-run program in written and oral appellate advocacy. The majority of the second-year class participates in this annual competition, which is also open to third-year students who have not previously competed owing to study abroad or joint-degree programs.

If you have questions about the competition or need any further details, please contact the Advocacy Board at You may also directly contact Lauren Hodge, Chief Justice, at

Fall Competition
What's the schedule?
  • Round 1 Arguments
    Wednesday, October 15th - Saturday, October 18th
  • Round 2 Arguments
    Wednesday, October 22nd - Saturday, October 25th
  • Round 3 Arguments
    Tuesday, October 28th - Saturday November 1st
Where can I view the competition problem?

The problem and rules will be available in mid-September.

Watch a video of the 2012-13 Moot Court finals.

Communications to the Moot Court Board may be addressed to