Academic calendar

What happens When
2017-2018 Academic Year
Fall 2017
Orientation New LLM, MCL, SJD, PhD and Exchange Students: Tuesday, August 8-Thursday, August 10
New JD Students: Thursday, August 10; Friday, August 11; Monday, August 14
Drop/Add Thursday, August 10 through Monday, August 21
Classes Start Tuesday, August 15 (Monday class schedule to replace Tuesday class schedule due to the Labor Day holiday)
Labor Day Monday, September 4 (classes do not meet)
Fall Break Monday, October 9 through Friday, October 13
Classes Resume Monday, October 16
Classes End Tuesday, November 21
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 22 through Friday, November 24 (classes do not meet)
Reading Days Monday, November 27 - Wednesday, November 29
Exams Start Thursday, November 30
Exams End Friday, December 15
Spring 2018
Wintersession Wednesday, January 3 through Saturday, January 6
Orientation New LLM, MCL, SJD, and PhD Students: Monday, January 8 through Tuesday January 9
Drop/Add Monday, January 8 through Wednesday, January 17
Classes Start Wednesday, January 10 (Monday class schedule to replace Wednesday schedule due to MLK holiday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day** Monday, January 15 (classes do not meet)
Spring Recess Monday, March 12 through Friday, March 16
Classes Resume Monday, March 19
Classes End Wednesday, April 18
Reading Days Thursday, April 19 and Friday, April 20
Exams Start Monday, April 23
Exams End Friday, May 4
Law School Commencement Saturday, May 5
What happens When
2018-2019 Academic Year
Fall 2018
Orientation New LLM, MCL, SJD, PhD and Exchange Students: TBA
New JD Students: TBA
Drop/Add Thursday, August 9 through Monday, August 20
Classes Start Tuesday, August 14 (Monday class schedule to replace Tuesday class schedule due to the Labor Day holiday)
Labor Day Monday, September 3 (classes do not meet)
Fall Break Monday, October 8 through Friday, October 12
Classes Resume Monday, October 15
Classes End Tuesday, November 20
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 21 through Friday, November 23 (classes do not meet)
Reading Days Monday, November 26 - Wednesday, November 28
Exams Start Thursday, November 29
Exams End Friday, December 14
Spring 2019
Wintersession Tuesday, January 3 through Monday, January 7
Drop/Add Monday, January 7 through Wednesday, January 16
Classes Start Wednesday, January 9 (Monday class schedule to replace Wednesday schedule due to MLK holiday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 14 (classes do not meet)
Spring Recess Monday, March 11 through Friday, March 15
Classes Resume Monday, March 18
Classes End Wednesday, April 17
Reading Days Thursday, April 18 and Friday, April 19
Exams Start Monday, April 22
Exams End Friday, May 3
Law School Commencement Saturday, May 4

View prior academic calendars