Indiana University Bloomington

Primary Navigation

Degrees & Courses

Sample horizontal photo

Academic Calendar

2013-2014 Academic Year
Fall, 2013
Orientation Wednesday, Aug. 21 - Friday, Aug. 23: new LLM, MCL, SJD, PhD, and exchange students
Monday, August 26: new JD students
Drop/Add Thursday, August 22 through Tuesday, September 3
Classes Start Tuesday, August 27
Labor Day** Monday, September 2
(Classes do not meet)
(**Labor Day scheduled classes will meet on Tuesday, August 27)
Fall Break Monday, October 14 through Friday, October 18
Classes Resume Monday, October 21
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 27 through Friday, November 29
(Classes do not meet)
Classes Resume Monday, December 2
Classes End Friday, December 6
Exams Start Monday, December 9
Exams End Friday, December 20
Spring, 2014
Orientation Monday, January 13 through Tuesday, January 14: new LLM, MCL, SJD, PhD, and exchange students
Drop/Add Monday, January 13 through Thursday, January 23
Classes Start Thursday, January 16
Martin Luther King Jr. Day** Monday, January 20
(Classes do not meet)
(**MLK Day scheduled classes will meet on Thursday, Jan 16)
Spring Recess Monday, March 17 through Friday, March 21
Classes Resume Monday, March 24
Classes End Thursday, April 24
Reading Day Friday, April 25
Exams Start Monday, April 28
Exams End Friday, May 9
Law School Recognition Ceremony Saturday, May 10
2014-2015 Academic Year
Fall, 2014
OrientationNew LLM, MCL, SJD, PhD Students
Friday, Aug. 15, Monday, Aug. 25, and Tuesday, Aug, 26
New JD Students
Wednesday, August 20 through Saturday, August 23
Drop/AddThursday, August 21 through Friday, August 29
Classes StartMonday, August 25
Labor DayMonday, September 1 (Classes do not meet)
Fall BreakMonday, October 6 through Friday, October 10
Classes ResumeMonday, October 13
Thanksgiving RecessWednesday, November 26 through Friday, November 28 (Classes do not meet)
Classes ResumeMonday, December 1
Classes EndFriday, December 5
Exams StartMonday, December 8
Exams EndFriday, December 19
Spring, 2015
Drop/AddMonday, January 12 through Thursday, January 22
Classes StartThursday, January 15
Martin Luther King Jr. Day**Monday, January 19 (Classes do not meet) (**MLK Day scheduled classes will meet on Thursday, Jan 15)
Spring RecessMonday, March 16 through Friday, March 20
Classes ResumeMonday, March 23
Classes End Thursday, April 23
Reading DayFriday, April 24
Exams StartMonday, April 27
Exams EndFriday, May 8
Law School Recognition CeremonySaturday, May 9