Primary Navigation


Sample horizontal photo

Awards and Honors

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was founded in 1997 to recognize graduates of the Indiana University Maurer School of Law who have distinguished themselves in service to their communities and the School in ways far exceeding traditional business, professional, and civic duties. Through their hard work, passion, and accomplishments, these alumni define Indiana Law's ideals for community service and serve as accomplished role models for our Law School and the greater community.

DSA Recipients for 2015
Holiday Hart McKiernan, '83
Chief of Staff and General Counsel
Lumina Foundation
Tony Prather, '83
Barnes and Thornburg
Gene Wilkins, '57
Retired Partner
Ice Miller

You may also see a list of past recipients.


Nominations may be submitted by anyone, must be in writing, and should include biographical and other information supporting the nomination.

Selection Criteria
  • The nature of the service rendered by the nominee may include, but is not limited to: exemplifying the spirit of volunteerism, furthering humanitarian causes; rendering pro bono services in the nominee’s area of expertise; serving with distinction on community-based boards; actively fostering citizenship; or serving his or her community, state, or country in some exceptional and distinctive manner.
  • The nominee must have received a degree from the IU Maurer School of Law.
  • The nominee must agree to be present at the award ceremony.
  • Current officers of the Indiana Law Alumni Board (President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer) are not eligible for this award.